New York State Rechargeable Battery Take Back Law

On December 15, 2010, Governor Paterson signed into law a new requirement for manufacturers to take back and recycle rechargeable batteries in a statewide, manufacturer funded program. The Rechargeable Battery Law mandates that manufacturers be responsible to provide this service at no cost to the consumer.  Beginning June 8, 2011, retailers that sell covered rechargeable batteries will be required to accept used rechargeable batteries from consumers at no cost to the consumer during normal business hours.

A retailer must accept up to 10 batteries per day from any person regardless of whether they purchase replacement batteries or a retailer must accept as many batteries as a consumer purchases from the retailer.

Batteries covered by the law include:

  • Nickel-cadmium
  • Sealed lead
  • Lithium ion
  • Nickel metal hydride
  • Any other such dry cell battery capable of being charged
  • Battery packs containing any of the above mentioed batteries

IMPORTANT---Beginning December 5, 2011 a disposal ban goes in to effect which prohibits the disposal of rechargeable batteries in the trash!!!

Examples of items that use rechargeable batteries are:

  • cell phones
  • laptops
  • cordless tools
  • cordless telephones
  • children's motorized vehicles

Other Batteries:

Alkaline or other single use batteries (typiclally AAA, AA, C, D, 9 volt), are not covered under this law and will not be accepted at retail outlets for recycling, however, any county transfer station in Jefferson, Lewis or St. Lawrence County will accept single use batteries for recycling.

Retailers that sell automotve batteries (lead acid batteries) are required to accept automotive batteries for recycling. It is illegal to dispose of lead acid batteries in your trash. For additional information about recycling lead acid batteries, click here

For additional information on battery recycling or to find a collection location in your area click here.

North Country Recycles

Additional Information:

Where Do I Discard...?

Find locations near you to recycle items.

North Country Recycles


Three County Recycling List:
This list identifies items accepted by transfer stations in Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence Counties.

Email Signup