Recyclables Accepted in Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence Counties

Recycling in Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence Counties

Recycling in the three county region is managed at the county owned transfer stations. The following materials are accepted for recycling at all County Transfer Stations in Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence Counties. Click on the attachment at the bottom of the page for a printable list.


Plastic Bottles, Containers & Tubs with symbols 1-7

  • Containers should be empty and rinsed
  •  No Styrofoam (even with symbol)
  • No plastic bags (Grocery bags and some other plastic films -can be returned to larger stores for recycling. Bins are generally located in the lobby or near the store front)
  • No automotive oil containers


Glass Bottles & Jars

  • No need to separate by colors
  • Containers should be empty and rinsed
  • No windows, plate glass, mirrors, broken glass
  • No dishes and drinking glasses
  • No ceramic dishes, clay pots, etc.
  • No light bulbs


Tin and Aluminum

  • Beverage and Food Cans
  • Aluminum Pans and Foil
  • Containers should be empty and rinsed


Mixed Paper

  • Office and Copier Paper
  • Junk Mail and Envelopes
  • Newspapers
  • Magazines and Catalogues
  • Shredded Paper
  • Telephone Books
  • Paperback Books-No hardcover books unless cover is removed
  • Paper Grocery Bags
  • Cereal and Food Boxes-Please keep these items separate from other mixed paper in Jefferson County only
  • No Paper Cups, Plates, Tissues orToilet Paper
  • No Carbon Paper


Corrugated Cardboard Boxes

  • No wax, plastic, styrofoam or metal coatings on the boxes

Electronic Waste

  • Computers (includes cables and cords)
  • Televisions
  • Small Scale Servers
  • Monitors
  • Keyboards & Mice
  • Fax Machines
  • Scanners
  • Printers
  • VCRs
  • DVRs
  • Portable Digital Music Players
  • DVD Players
  • Digital Converter Boxes
  • Cable or Satellite Receivers
  • Electronic or Video Game Consoles

Rechargeable Batteries

  • Nickel-cadmium
  • Sealed Lead
  • Lithium ion
  • Nickel metal hydride
  • Any other such dry cell battery capable of being recharged
  • Batterypacks containing any of the above mentioned batteries

Single Use Batteries (Non-rechargeable)

  • Alkaline, Lithium and others

Scrap Metal

White Goods



Sorting requirements vary between counties. Please check with the appropriate transfer station on how recyclables should be sorted and any other special requirements. Some recycling centers may accept additional items not listed here. Click on the links below for information on the Counties' transfer stations.

County Transfer Station Locations-Click on the link for additional information and hours of operation

Jefferson County Recycling & Waste Management, NYS Rt 12, Watertown, NY (315)785-9072

Lewis County-Lowville Transfer Station, NYS Rt 26, Lowville, NY (315)376-5101

St. Lawrence County-Ogdensburg Transfer Station, Arnold-Wagner Rd, Ogdensburg, NY (315)393-7501

St. Lawrence County-Massena Transfer Station, Dump Rd off Rt 420, Massena, NY (315)764-7312

St. Lawrence County-Gouverneur Transfer Station, US Rt 11, Gouverneur, NY (315)287-0919 

St. Lawrence County-Star Lake Transfer Station, NYS Rt 3, Star Lake, NY (315)848-3589  


Click on the attachement below for a printable list of items accepted at county recycling centers:

Materials That Can Be Recycled.pdf52 KB

North Country Recycles

Additional Information:

Where Do I Discard...?

Find locations near you to recycle items.

North Country Recycles


Three County Recycling List:
This list identifies items accepted by transfer stations in Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence Counties.

Email Signup